Global Advent: Day 4

The Film: Strictly Ballroom – Australia

Strictly BallroomThere are some films I know by heart, that I’m so familiar with, that are such a part of my relationship with cinema I forget to write about them.

I remember watching Strictly Ballroom for the first time in a small theater with my parents and sister. I remember that I had never seen anything like it. I didn’t know at the time, but I was in love with film.

Of course, Strictly Ballroom is easy to love. It’s about passion and failure, creativity and cultures. It’s a little West Side Story, a little Cinderella, over-the-top and completely relatable. Not to mention insanely quotable.

As I pointed out yesterday, fantastical films such as Amelie and Bread and Tulips have strong relationships with music. Writer/director Baz Luhrmann takes this element even further but manages to integrate the variety of music so seamlessly, brilliantly, it mirrors our emotions and guides us through without being questioned.

Of course the acting is superb and the characters are absolutely unforgettable. While you’re laughing until your sides hurt — the relationships under all the makeup and costumes are genuine.

I watched it so many times I wore out my prized VHS tape, still quote lines from every character, frequently get the phrase “bogo pogo” stuck in my head, and am instantly transported to the world of Scott and Fran every time I hear “Time After Time.”

Now that’s a good movie.

The Food: Mint Hummus

There are certain foods which I never have been able to come up with a definitive recipe for. I’m so familiar with the flavours I just know when it’s right.

So maybe this is more of an inspiration than a recipe but I didn’t have all the ingredients for my baba ghanouj hummus recipe so I decided to go festive and add mint to my usual hummus recipe. It was incredibly tasty on the whole wheat pita I made yesterday.

  • Mint Hummus1 can of chickpeas with juice
  • 1 can of chickpeas with out juice
  • Olive oil
  • Tahini
  • Garlic
  • Lemon
  • Mint
  • Salt

All of this is to taste. It’s mostly about consistency. If you have a really good food processor you can get a very creamy dip. Personally, I like a little bit of texture.

In the next batch, I’ll stuff it full of mint and add the deep flavour of bokharat (7 spice). I’ve also found that it’s delicious on pita, with chicken, bokharat, and topped with cheese. Put it under the broiler until your little pizza is warmed up, the bread is toasty, and the cheese bubbles.

Warm hummus is sort of my new obsession. Try it out.

About Saint

Filmmaker, Screenwriter, Cinephile, Coffee Zombie
This entry was posted in Arabic, Australia, Christmas, Comedy, Film, Film Genre, Food, Foreign Film, Holiday, Independent, International Cinema, Leftovers, Romantic Comedy, Side Dish, Snack, Spices, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

