Advent: Day 3

The Film: Hors de prix [Priceless]
I won’t lie. This film is Breakfast at Tiffany’s. In French. Is this a bad thing? I think not. And I’ll give you two reasons. Gad Elmaleh and Audrey Tautou. These two French stars are amazing in this film.

It was great to see Tautou play a character who isn’t a precious darling and Elmaleh sparkles just as bright. If I had to pick one scene that made it worth the recommendation it would be when the lead characters meet in a hotel bar after hours and a case of mistaken identity sets the story in motion.

Now — a note. This film is not for everyone. There are questionable ethics involved for the characters and just like Breakfast at Tiffany’s if you think about it too much, you might cringe. Granted, this is not something I would ordinarily find myself watching but I think that speaks to the entertaining quality of the film.

It doesn’t always ring as Tiffany’s but there is a feeling of style that resonates even when the story deviates. Their chemistry, delivery, and physical comedy take a script with content that could in other hands lean toward the vulgar and makes it charming.

The Food: Flour-less Peanut Butter Cookies [Real Simple]
Like Hour De Prix these cookies are a knockoff. They’re not the real Christmas cookie classic Peanut Butter Blossoms. They’re my version of them. And I think they turned out well.

I used the flax instead of eggs technique for one of the eggs in the recipe because I wanted to lower the cholesterol count and I thought the flax might combat the large volume of sugar and peanut butter in the recipe. I did use part Splenda brown sugar and I lowered the amount of white sugar. The flour-less aspect of the recipe was also very cool. I think these cookies would taste very good made with honey but I have no idea what that would do to the texture. I added the chocolate chips in hopes they would taste just like a Peanut Butter Blossom. They didn’t. But they were darn close.

It was a little suprising to use a whole jar of peanut butter and a few cups of sugar and then read the next step was to put them on the baking sheet. I wasn’t sure how that was going to happen. But I kept stiring and eventually the mixture came together.

I did stick them in the fridge between batches because I hoped they’d be easier to handle. I’m not sure it made any difference but it allowed me to do one batch at a time which all came out perfectly even. They’re a very different texture of cookie too. The Real Simple site calls them old fashioned. Apparently in the old days a cup of milk was required to get through a cookie. Things were slower back then.

About Saint

Filmmaker, Screenwriter, Cinephile, Coffee Zombie
This entry was posted in Christmas, Comedy, Cookies, Film, Food, Foreign Film, France, International Cinema, Netflix and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

