Rebel

I love the Internet. I love looking up recipes. And then totally ignoring them. Well, I don’t totally ignore them, I treat them more like guidelines. Very loose guidelines. Yes, yes, I’m a culinary rebel.

So this, the Christmas of make, I spent one long night in the kitchen using guidelines to create homemade gifts: vanilla syrup, compound butters, seasoned nuts, French onions, and farm dressing.

French onions were inexactly crafted from an onion marmalade recipe. The recipe for vanilla syrup was easy to make and modify. I made ranch dressing from a recipe (which I followed closely) but it didn’t even taste like a generic version so I added a few seasonings and called it farm dressing. Much better.

The idea for the flavoured nuts came from Real Simple magazine. I only found walnuts in the cupboard but they were great:

  • Salt & Vinegar Dill Pickle
  • Sambal Caramel
  • Buttered Orange Rosemary
  • Ginger Lemon Turmeric

My favourite part of the night was creating the compound butters:

  • BBQ
  • Irish Walnut (made with Bailey’s Irish Cream)
  • Orange Honey Rosemary
  • Mocha
  • Tomato Basil Parmesan

I also made multiple batches of gourmet popcorn:

  • White Chocolate Cranberry Almond
  • Saffron BBQ
  • Seaweed & Peanut
  • Za’atar

I will definitely be working on my popcorn recipes for future posts. I got a huge kick out of making labels too, they will be a permanent part of my future gift giving. A challenging experiment that turned into a wonderful experience. All in my own kitchen.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Saint

Filmmaker, Screenwriter, Cinephile, Coffee Zombie
This entry was posted in Arabic, Asian, Christmas, Cookies, Food, French, Holiday, Modified Recipe, Snack, Spices, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rebel

  1. kd says:

    More walnuts!!

Leave a Reply

